a large country shim_5X2.jpg (195 bytes)  


South Africa is a wide, open country, covering about 1 223 201 kmē. It is about as large as Holland, Belgium, Italy, France and West Germany put together, or Texas and California combined. For administrative purposes the country is divided into 9 provinces - Gauteng, Mpumalanga, North-West, Limpopo Province, Freestate, KwaZulu-Natal, Eastern Cape, Western Cape, Northern Cape.